01 · Class profile
Who is in the Kellogg MBA class
Class of 2027, the Two-Year MBA class that entered in Sept 2025. It is the latest class profile on Kellogg's class-profile page; a profile for the Class of 2028 (entered Sept 2026) is not posted yet.
Kellogg's academic calendar calls the class that enters in September 2027, the one you would join, the Class of 2029.
The pages we read do not show the share of women, age, nationalities or regions, a work experience range, or the undergraduate institutions. Kellogg gives 5.1 years only as an average.
U.S. veterans are 9% of the Class of 2027, which Kellogg describes as a record high and up 3 percentage points on the year before.
Industry before the MBA (share of students)
Share of the Class of 2027, as in Kellogg's chart. Other is Kellogg's own slice. Kellogg says financial services at 24% is the highest since 2021, up from 18% the year before.
Undergraduate major (share of students)
Economics and business
49% Share of the Class of 2027. Double majors count in more than one group, so the shares add to more than 100%. STEM is science, technology, engineering and mathematics; Kellogg calls 41% a record.
Test scores, Class of 2027
| Test | Average | Median | Range |
|---|
| GMAT Focus | 687 | Not published | 515 to 775 |
| GMAT Legacy | 733 | Not published | 680 to 770 |
| GRE Verbal | 162 | Not published | 149 to 170 |
| GRE Quant | 162 | Not published | 146 to 170 |
Kellogg labels each range chart 'Middle 80% range'; the figures are the end labels of those charts. The two GMAT editions are separate scales, so do not compare them.
Kellogg does not publish a median, percentiles, the number of test-takers for each test or a GRE Analytical Writing score. Kellogg says it has no minimum acceptable score.
GPA and work experience
Average GPA 3.68, with GPAs from 2.7 to 4.0. Average work experience before joining Kellogg is 5.1 years. Kellogg strongly recommends at least two years of full-time work experience by the time you start.
Where the class wants to go
Kellogg lists the top five target industries after the MBA as Consulting, Financial Services, Technology, Healthcare/Biopharma and Consumer Products. It gives no percentages.
Where do you sit in this class? Enter your score, experience and profile and see your position and interview risk.
Check my chances02 · Placements
Where Kellogg MBA graduates go
Class of 2025, from Kellogg's Two-Year MBA employment outcomes report (an Excel file) and its career-outcomes page. Kellogg has not yet published a report for the Class of 2026.
Kellogg's pay figures carry a $ sign and the pages do not label the currency separately. Kellogg says all compensation data reflects outcomes three months after graduation.
Kellogg defines median total compensation as the median of each graduate's base salary plus signing bonus. It does not publish a mean total. Median signing bonus is $30,000 and 85% of accepted offers reported one.
Of graduates who accepted a job, 83% reported usable salary information. Base salary: average $167,151, low $67,113, high $250,000. Signing bonus: average $34,658, from $5,000 to $140,000.
90% is the share of students seeking employment who had accepted a job by six months after graduation. Kellogg gives percentages, not a count of accepted offers.
Who is counted
526 students in the Two-Year class: 429 seeking employment, 84 not seeking and 13 not reported. Of the 84, Kellogg lists 63 company-sponsored or already employed, 20 starting a new business and 1 postponing the job search.
Of the 429 seeking, 251 had permanent U.S. work authorization and 178 did not. The median base salary was $175,000 for both groups.
How fast offers came (share of students seeking employment)
| By | Received an offer | Accepted an offer |
|---|
| Graduation | 73.9% | 69.5% |
| Three months after | 87.6% | 85.5% |
| Six months after | Not published | 90% |
Industry of the job (share of accepted offers)
Consumer Packaged Goods
9% Transport and logistics
1% Share of accepted offers, Class of 2025. Kellogg rounds the shares, so they may not add to 100%. Transport and logistics is Kellogg's Transportation & Logistics Services. Energy, Nonprofit and Other are each under 1%, and Hospitality is 0%.
Function of the job (share of accepted offers)
Share of accepted offers, Class of 2025. Kellogg says technology has been part of Marketing/Sales since the Class of 2024. Corporate strategy is Kellogg's Corporate Strategy/Strategic Planning. Other is Kellogg's own bucket.
Pay by industry, Class of 2025
| Industry | Median base salary | Median signing bonus |
|---|
| Consulting | $190,000 | $30,000 |
| Financial Services | $175,000 | $35,000 |
| Technology | $151,500 | $40,000 |
| Consumer Packaged Goods | $128,000 | $32,500 |
| Healthcare | $142,500 | $30,000 |
| Manufacturing | $159,500 | $25,000 |
| Media/Entertainment | $150,861 | Not published |
Kellogg shows base salary and signing bonus separately and this page does the same. The report also gives median base by function: Consulting $190,000, Finance $175,000, Marketing/Sales $150,000, Product Management (Tech) $169,050 and General Management $150,000.
Location of the job (share of respondents)
Share of respondents in the compensation table, Class of 2025. The United States is 94.4% and International 5.6% (Asia 3.75%). Chicago metro is 33.75% and New York metro 15.9%.
| Place | Median base salary |
|---|
| Chicago metro | $180,000 |
| San Francisco metro | $175,636 |
| New York metro | $175,000 |
| International | $129,848 |
Pay by work experience before the MBA
| Experience | Share of respondents | Median base salary |
|---|
| More than five years | 56% | $175,000 |
| More than three, up to five years | 38% | $177,000 |
| More than one, up to three years | 3% | $150,000 |
| One year or less | 2% | $140,000 |
How graduates found the job
70.0% of accepted full-time offers were school-facilitated, a share that includes 49.5% from school-facilitated internships. 30.0% were graduate-facilitated.
Entrepreneurship
20 Class of 2025 graduates focused exclusively on starting a new business, which Kellogg calls a record for entrepreneurial activity, including search funds.
Employers
Employers that hired three or more Two-Year students, Class of 2025, with the number hired. The list excludes sponsored students.
Boston Consulting Group (41), Amazon (25), McKinsey & Company (23), Bain & Company (22), Capital One (9), PwC Strategy& (7), Kearney (6), PepsiCo (6), Accenture Strategy (5), Deloitte Consulting LLP (5), EY-Parthenon (5), Adobe (4), Bank of America (4), Eli Lilly & Company (4), J.P. Morgan Investment Banking (4), Samsung Global Strategy Group (4), ZS Associates (4), Amgen (3), Evercore Partners (3), General Mills (3), Intuit (3), McMaster-Carr (3) and Nike (3).
03 · Fees and scholarships
What it costs, and how to pay less
Tuition and the estimate are for the first year of the Two-Year MBA in 2026-27, for students who entered in Sept 2026. Tuition for the 2027-28 year, the one you would enter, is not published yet.
The $130,072 is Kellogg's estimated first-year cost of attendance, not a bill. Billed charges are tuition and university fees. Kellogg does not publish the second-year or total two-year cost on the pages we read.
First-year cost estimate, 2026-27
| Item | Kellogg's estimate |
|---|
| Tuition | $88,536 |
| Food and housing | $22,941 |
| Health insurance | $5,996 |
| Personal | $2,835 |
| First year fee | $2,000 |
| Books and supplies | $1,743 |
| Travel | $1,551 |
| Student activity and experience fee | $1,400 |
| Computer equipment | $1,200 |
| University Health Services fee | $894 |
| Student association fee | $450 |
| Course material fee | $310 |
| Loan fees | $216 |
| Estimated expenses | $130,072 |
Paying the bill
Tuition is billed each academic quarter through CAESAR eBill. Fall: bill available 10th Aug, payment due 1st Sep. Winter: 10th Dec, due 1st Jan. Spring: 10th Mar, due 1st Apr. The amount per quarter is not stated.
Kellogg refunds excess financial aid on the first day of full-time classes. The pages we read do not show an enrolment deposit or its due date.
Application fee
$250, paid by credit card within the application and non-refundable. Kellogg waives it for active-duty U.S. military and veterans, and for candidates employed in the past three years by Teach For America, Title 1 schools, AmeriCorps or the Peace Corps. You must provide evidence.
Kellogg scholarships
| Scholarship | What you get and who it is for |
|---|
| All admitted students | Every admitted student is considered automatically and is told at admission if selected. Awards are merit-based or need-based. Kellogg says merit scholarships are awarded by the Office of Admissions, typically at the time of admission, and recipients can expect the same funding in year two unless specified. |
| F.C. Austin Scholars | A highly selective full-tuition scholarship awarded at admission to a select cohort in the Two-Year and Master in Management programs. The funds cover up to two years of tuition in equal amounts, with mentorship from three named faculty. |
| Finance Fellows | Full tuition for Two-Year students committed to a finance industry or function. It is the one scholarship with its own form: a 250-word essay on what excites you about finance, submitted through an interest form that appears in the application portal after you submit. It is optional and does not affect review of your MBA application. |
| Financial need-based scholarships | For qualified U.S. citizens and permanent residents who complete the optional Financial Need Based Scholarship Application during admission. It has no effect on the admission decision or merit scholarships, and renews in year two with satisfactory academic progress. Not available with employer tuition reimbursement. |
| Other named awards | Kellogg lists these with no amounts: Charles J. Schaniel (accounting); David Himmelblau; Grohne Family Foundation; Donald P. Jacobs International Scholarships (strong international students); George Terry Trust Award (outstanding student graduating from a U.S.-based college); Hawryluk Scholars Award (healthcare); Healthcare at Kellogg; John R. Flanagan (finance); Kellogg Scholarship (overall achievements, leadership, academics); Peter L. Frechette Endowed; PepsiCo (marketing); Rick Searer and Cathi Weibrecht Searer (career change from liberal arts or teaching); Robert A. and Helen E. Gottschal (entrepreneurship). |
| Zell Fellows | A second-year entrepreneurship opportunity open to second-year Two-Year students. It is not an admission scholarship. |
Kellogg does not publish, on the pages we read, the share of students who receive aid, any award amount other than 'full tuition', or when scholarship decisions arrive beyond 'at the time of admission'.
These scholarship, loan and handbook pages carry 2024 dates (scholarships Sep 2024, loans Jun 2024, financial aid handbook Apr 2024) and have not been re-dated, so check them with Kellogg's financial aid office.
Loans and aid forms
| Topic | What Kellogg says |
|---|
| U.S. citizens and permanent residents | File the FAFSA (Northwestern code 001739) and the Kellogg Application for Financial Aid, which appears in the applicant portal after the round deadline. |
| International students | Complete the Kellogg Application for Financial Aid, which appears in your applicant portal after your round deadline. Private education loans are open to all students, including international citizens. Kellogg also describes a Northwestern institutional loan for international students; Kellogg's loans page (dated Jun 2024) says the 2026-27 application was due to open in June 2026, so check with the financial aid office. |
| Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loan | Up to $20,500 a year. Kellogg says the Grad PLUS Loan ends for new borrowing on 1st Jul 2026, so from 2026-27 graduate students are eligible only for Direct Unsubsidized Loans and may need private or institutional loans for the rest. |
| Collins Family Loan Assistance Program | Debt assistance for graduates working full-time for at least two years in a social-impact role at a nonprofit, government office, social enterprise or social start-up. |
| Contact | finaid@kellogg.northwestern.edu or 847.467.1269. |
The interest rates on Kellogg's loans page are for loans first disbursed from 1st Jul 2025 to 30th Jun 2026, which is out of date for 2026-27, so this page leaves them out.
Could your profile earn a scholarship? Check where you stand before you apply.
Check my chances04 · Rounds and deadlines
Which round, and by when
These are the Full-Time MBA deadlines for the 2026-27 cycle, for entry in September 2027. The same three deadlines are on Kellogg's admissions page and its Two-Year MBA page.
Round 19th Sep 2026
- Interviews:
- By invitation, rolling until decisions are released. No dates published.
- Decision:
- 9th Dec 2026
Round 26th Jan 2027
- Interviews:
- By invitation, rolling until decisions are released. No dates published.
- Decision:
- 24th Mar 2027
Round 331st Mar 2027
- Interviews:
- By invitation, rolling until decisions are released. No dates published.
- Decision:
- 12th May 2027
Kellogg says the video essay link appears after you submit the application and pay the fee, and the video essays are due 96 hours after the application deadline.
Kellogg strongly encourages international candidates to apply in Round 1 or Round 2, because visa processing starts early.
Kellogg's academic calendar shows Fall Pre-Term 2027 from 17th Aug 2027, the mandatory Full-Time Program CIM from 18th to 20th Aug 2027, KWEST from 21st to 28th Aug 2027, pre-term courses from 2nd Sep 2027 and Fall Quarter classes beginning 20th Sep 2027. The entering-year wording comes from that calendar, not from the application pages.
Kellogg does not publish fixed interview dates, offer acceptance deadlines or an enrolment deposit date on the pages we read. Invitations go out on a rolling basis until decisions are released.
You can apply to one Full-Time program per cycle. Kellogg welcomes re-applicants but gives them no preference. A re-applicant submits a new application, a new interview and two new letters.
If you are waitlisted
Kellogg can make updated decisions on a rolling basis between January and August. Waitlisted candidates are not ranked and are not re-interviewed. They must return the interest-confirmation form by its date or are removed, and can send updated documents through the Application Status Page.
Not sure which round to aim for? We look at your file and tell you.
Check my chances05 · Clubs and activities
Life outside class
Kellogg's clubs-and-trips page lists a sampling of 52 clubs in the order Kellogg lists them, with no grouping. The count of 52 is ours. This page uses only that list.
Kellogg's pages give different totals: more than 100 clubs on that page (dated Dec 2024) and more than 120 student-led clubs and organizations on its Two-Year MBA page (Jun 2026).
Clubs Kellogg lists (52)
Africa Business Club; Asian Management Association; Black Management Association; Canada Club; Catholics at Kellogg; Corporate Finance Club; Consulting Club; Data and Analytics Club; Education Club; Energy & Sustainability Club; Entrepreneurship & Venture Capital Club; Entrepreneurship Through Acquisition Club; European Business Club; Family Enterprise Club; Fintech@Kellogg; First Generation Student Association; Future of Mobility; General Management Club; Greater China Club; Groupwerk: Kellogg's Dance Crew; Healthcare Club; Hispanic Management Association; Innovation and Design Association (IDEA); Investment Banking & Capital Markets Club; Investment Management Club; Jewish Business Association; Kellogg Blockchain Club; Kellogg Board Fellows; Kellogg Cares; Kellogg Comedy Club; Kellogg Food & Agribusiness; Kellogg Hospitality Club; Kellogg Impact Consulting Club; Kellogg Tech Club; K-LATAM; Latter-Day Saints Student Association; Marketing Club; Media & Entertainment Club; Middle East and North Africa Club; People Strategy Club; Pride @ Kellogg; Private Equity Club; Real Estate Club; Ski and Snowboard Club; Social Impact Club at Kellogg; Southeast Asia Club; Strategy & Business Development Club; Texas Business Club; Transportation Club; Veteran's Association; Whisk Management; Women's Business Association.
What some clubs do
| Club | What they do |
|---|
| Healthcare Club | A community pod program that puts 150 students into small groups by industry sector (pharma, payer, health tech) for dinners and networking through the quarters. A student-run podcast, Healthscape. Small-group lunches with professors and a Healthcare Startup recruiting panel. |
| Women's Business Association | A mentorship program matching Kellogg students with Northwestern undergraduate women. Community events such as galentines celebrations, a book club and small-group dinners. Kellogg Women's Week, its annual flagship, with sessions such as a power-and-status talk and a personal-finance workshop. |
| First Generation Student Association | Founded in 2023-24 around community and belonging, support and visibility. Its stated plans were 'Hear My Story' events where students share personal narratives, an annual First-Generation Student Week, conferences, and mentorship and networking between students and alumni. |
These three come from Kellogg posts of Feb to Apr 2024, so details may have changed. The First Generation Student Association items were plans in a Feb 2024 post. Kellogg's pages give no event detail for the other clubs.
Events and traditions
| Event | What it is |
|---|
| Kellogg Women's Week | The Women's Business Association's annual flagship event. |
| Day at Kellogg | More than 100 students opened their homes to host prospective students for small-group dinners (Kellogg's Apr 2025 post). |
| KWEST | Appears on the academic calendar from 21st to 28th Aug 2027, after the Full-Time Program CIM. Kellogg's global-experience page describes it as the largest of its travel programs, planned by students for students, with incoming students travelling to nearly 40 countries under the leadership of second-years. |
Campus and global options
Full-Time students spend most of their time on the Evanston campus, in the Global Hub, 30 minutes north of downtown Chicago on Lake Michigan. It is reachable by Metra, Chicago public transit and the Evanston bus system.
Kellogg says nearly 40 percent of students bring a spouse, partner or child. Its 'Joint Ventures' group lets partners network, join student groups and audit classes, and Kellogg Kids is described as one of the most active social clubs.
Kellogg lists more than 1,000 experiential learning opportunities and exchange programs across 20 countries. Its global-experience page, dated Aug 2024, says 85% of Full-Time MBA students choose at least one global opportunity and 40% take multiple trips.
06 · Process
From application to decision
Choose one Full-Time programBefore you apply
You apply to one Full-Time program per year. After submitting you may name one alternate Full-Time program and/or the Evening & Weekend MBA, with a short paragraph on why.
This page covers the Two-Year MBA only.
Submit the application
Submit the online application with your resume, transcripts from all institutions, test score, two recommendation letters, the written essay and the $250 fee, paid by credit card.
Kellogg asks for hard-copy official transcripts only when you matriculate.
Record the video essays96 hours after the deadline
A link to five video questions appears on the Application Status Page after you submit and pay. You get up to 60 seconds per answer.
The questions are not published in advance.
Interview, if invitedRolling
All interviews are virtual. An email gives your status and scheduling instructions. Invitations go out on a rolling basis until decisions are released, and timing does not signal your status.
Times cannot be changed once scheduled.
DecisionOn the round's decision date
Kellogg releases your decision to the applicant portal on the date for your round. Scholarship recipients are told at the time of admission.
You may add employment changes, new grades or new test scores through the supplemental information page. Kellogg does not guarantee they are read before the decision.
Waitlist or deferralIf it applies
Waitlisted candidates return the interest-confirmation form and may send updated documents. Admitted students who want a deferral should contact the admissions team.
Kellogg gives no deferral policy details on the pages we read.
07 · What you need
What goes into the application
1. Eligibility
A bachelor's or equivalent degree from an accredited college or university by the time you matriculate. Previous study in business or economics is not required, and Kellogg encourages introductory calculus and statistics before you enrol. Kellogg strongly recommends at least two years of full-time work experience upon matriculation.
For international candidates, Kellogg asks for a college-level education equivalent to a four-year U.S. bachelor's degree. A degree from certain three-year international undergraduate programs (for example India and the United Kingdom) may be acceptable. The name on your application must match your passport. All Kellogg Full-Time MBA programs are STEM-designated.
2. Test score
A GMAT or GRE score from a single sitting, with no superscores and no preference between the two. Kellogg has no minimum score. Its school codes are GMAT 6WZ-3J-89 and GRE 7921. Scores are valid for five years and your application must be complete before the score expires.
Kellogg's how-to page does not say which GMAT edition it accepts, although its class profile reports both Focus and Legacy averages. It states no Executive Assessment or test-waiver policy.
3. English test
Non-native speakers are exempt with a degree from a U.S. college or university, a degree from an institution where English was the only language of instruction (give the institution's URL or documentation), or at least two consecutive years of work in the U.S. or another English-speaking nation within the last five years. Otherwise you need a valid TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo English Test score, and the committee may ask any candidate for one. Kellogg publishes no minimum score.
4. Essays and video essays
For 2026-27 the application has one written essay for all programs, plus five 60-second video essays for Full-Time programs. That is two more video responses than before.
Essay 1: Written essay (required, 550 words)
Part I: An MBA is a significant investment of time, energy and resources, and the decision to pursue one deserves serious reflection. Tell us about the pivotal experiences and decisions that have brought you to this moment in your career, how they have shaped your ambitions, and why now is the right time to take this next step.
Part II: Now turn the lens outward: beyond what you hope to gain, what do you hope to contribute to the students who will learn alongside you?
Essay 2: Re-applicant essay (required for re-applicants, 250 words)
How have you grown or changed personally and professionally since you previously applied and what steps have you taken to become the strongest candidate you can be?
Video essays (required)
Five questions that Kellogg does not publish in advance. For each you get a brief moment to think, then up to one minute (60 seconds) to answer. Plan for about 30 minutes including setup, on an internet-connected computer with a webcam and microphone. You can repeat the practice questions as often as you like, but you cannot re-do the official questions. The link appears on the Application Status Page after you submit the application and payment, and the videos are due 96 hours after the application deadline.
Finance Fellows scholarship essay (optional, 250 words): see section 03. If you name an alternate program after submitting, you also write a short paragraph on your interest in it.
5. Two recommendations
Two letters are required for the application to be complete. Ideally one comes from a current supervisor or manager. The second should come from someone who can evaluate your professional performance and managerial or leadership potential, such as a former supervisor, previous employer or client. Kellogg says additional letters are neither required nor encouraged.
Kellogg lists three recommender prompts, with these word limits:
| Prompt | Words |
|---|
| Share an example of how the candidate has engaged with colleagues, clients, or stakeholders who held perspectives different from their own. How did they navigate the situation, and what does this demonstrate about their ability to lead or collaborate in complex environments? | 300 |
| How does the candidate's performance compare to those of other well-qualified individuals in similar roles? Please provide specific examples. | 300 |
| Describe the most important piece of constructive feedback you have given the candidate. Please detail the circumstances and the applicant's response. | 250 |
The pages we read do not say whether every recommender gets all three prompts, how recommenders submit, or when their letters are due.
6. Other documents
A resume with no required format or length, similar to one you would use for a job application but written for a general audience; the application also has a separate employment-history section. Transcripts from all institutions, with study-abroad grades on the transcript or separately. A transcript must show a conferred degree date or come with a diploma copy, and non-English records need an authorised verbatim English translation. The $250 fee is non-refundable.
08 · What Kellogg wants
How Kellogg reads your file
Kellogg describes the qualities it looks for in its own words. Here is what each means for your application.
| Kellogg looks at | In plain words |
|---|
| Pushing past comfort zones | Kellogg says a few qualities stand out, including the ability to push past comfort zones and question the norm. Show times you challenged how things were done. |
| Professional experience | The committee values professional experience, including military service, and looks for breadth and depth of skills and experiences to build on in the MBA classroom. |
| Driving impact with a team | Kellogg looks for people who are not afraid to question the status quo and can motivate a team to drive impact. |
| Collaboration | Kellogg wants people eager to dive in and collaborate with an engaged, ambitious community of peers. Its admissions page asks whether you are an empathetic collaborator who can bring everyone to the table. |
| Innovation | The same page asks whether you are an innovator with a clear vision and an entrepreneurial spirit. |
| Test scores in context | Kellogg says test scores are one criterion and not the only indicator of success in business school. It has no minimum acceptable score. |
Kellogg says its committee assesses the application responses, written and video essays, transcripts, test scores, letters of recommendation, resume and the interview report. For international candidates it also assesses the English test and professional experience.
Kellogg's class welcome post (Nov 2025) describes a holistic review seeking 'future Kellogg Leaders' with a rare blend of analytical, creative and social intelligence. Kellogg publishes no weights or scoring formula.
See how your file reads against these qualities before you spend weeks on the application.
Check my chances09 · Interview questions
What candidates say Kellogg interviewers ask
These are the five types of question that candidates say Kellogg interviewers ask, based on candidates' own accounts of their Kellogg interviews from 2021 to 2026. The tag says how likely that type of question is: high means it comes up in close to half of candidate accounts or more, medium in roughly a quarter to just under half, and low in fewer than a quarter.
| Topic | Chance | How it is usually asked |
|---|
| Behavioural, 'tell me about a time' questions | HIGH | “Tell me about a time you had to work through an ambiguous situation.” |
| Walk me through your resume | HIGH | “Walk me through your resume.” |
| Why Kellogg | HIGH | “Why Kellogg, specifically?” |
| Short-term and long-term goals | HIGH | “What are your short-term and long-term goals?” |
| Clubs, classes and what you would contribute | MEDIUM | “How would you contribute to the Kellogg community?” |
Based on candidates' own accounts, which are recalled from memory and cover few interviews in 2025 and only a handful in 2026. The tags are directional. Nobody gets a fixed list, and interviewers add follow-ups to your own answers.
Less often, candidates describe questions on feedback, failure and resilience, teamwork and conflict, your leadership style, your current role, how colleagues would describe you, career moves, a plan B, hobbies and which other schools you applied to.
10 · Interview experience
What the interview is actually like
What Kellogg says
| Topic | What to expect |
|---|
| Who interviews | Kellogg's July 2026 tips post says you meet one-on-one with a member of the Kellogg community. The current how-to page does not say whether that is an alumnus, a student or an admissions officer. |
| Mode | All interviews are virtual. An email gives your status and scheduling instructions. |
| Invitations | By invitation. They go out on a rolling basis through the evaluation period until decisions are released, and timing does not signal your status. |
| What it assesses | Interpersonal and communication skills, career focus and motivation for a Kellogg MBA. |
| Scheduling | Times cannot be changed once scheduled. To cancel, call 847.491.3308. |
| Not published | The number of interviews, how long they run, and what the interviewer sees of your file. |
What candidates report
| Topic | What to expect |
|---|
| Number and format | One interview, one-on-one. No account describes a second interview. |
| Who interviews | Alumni in most 2021 to 2023 accounts. From 2024 the mix opens up to students (first-year and second-year), admissions staff and alumni. In the 2026 accounts most interviewers are admissions staff or students, with no alumnus named. Candidates are often matched with someone from a similar industry, but not always. |
| Mode | Video call, almost always on Zoom. |
| Length | Usually 30 to 45 minutes, with about 10 to 15 for your questions. Some were 15 to 20 minutes and a few ran to an hour. The 2026 accounts are 35 to 45 minutes. |
| Order | Introductions and the format, then 'walk me through your resume' with follow-ups on roles, a block of behavioural questions, why an MBA, your goals and why Kellogg, then 'anything else?' and your questions. Some interviewers ask 'why Kellogg' first or last. |
| What the interviewer has | Usually only your resume, in these accounts. Some interviewers work from a list of questions the school gives them and add their own. |
| Tone | Mostly warm, relaxed and conversational. A few were formal, and one candidate described an interrupting interviewer. Interviewers often react little, so do not read their face as a verdict. |
| Written or video tasks | None described on the interview day. |
| Small surprises | A plan B question, why you did not apply to the dual-degree program, how your promotions compare with peers, whether your employer is sponsoring you, and which clubs interest you. |
Based on candidates' own accounts. The shift from alumni to admissions staff and students is a signal within a small recent group, not a trend. Check Kellogg's pages for the current format.
11 · FAQs
Questions students ask about Kellogg MBA
Is there a minimum GMAT or GRE score?
No. Kellogg says it has no minimum acceptable score and no preference between the GMAT and the GRE. For the Class of 2027 it reports an average GMAT Focus of 687, an average GMAT Legacy of 733, and an average of 162 on both GRE Verbal and GRE Quant. Scores must come from a single sitting, with no superscores.
How much work experience do I need?
Kellogg strongly recommends at least two years of full-time work experience upon matriculation. The Class of 2027 average is 5.1 years. You need a bachelor's or equivalent degree from an accredited institution; a three-year degree from certain countries, such as India, may be acceptable.
What are the essays and video essays?
For 2026-27 there is one written essay of 550 words, with two parts, plus five video essays of up to 60 seconds each. The video questions are not published in advance. Re-applicants also write a 250-word essay. The video essays are due 96 hours after the application deadline.
How many recommendations do I need?
Two letters. Ideally one comes from a current supervisor or manager. Kellogg says additional letters are neither required nor encouraged. The pages we read do not say when recommenders must submit.
How does the Kellogg interview work?
It is by invitation, virtual and one-on-one with a member of the Kellogg community, according to Kellogg's July 2026 tips post. Invitations go out on a rolling basis until decisions are released. Kellogg says it assesses interpersonal and communication skills, career focus and motivation. It does not publish the length or number of interviews.
Which round should I apply in?
Round 1 (9th Sep 2026) has closed, with decisions due 9th Dec 2026. Round 2 closes 6th Jan 2027 with decisions on 24th Mar 2027. Round 3 closes 31st Mar 2027 with decisions on 12th May 2027. Kellogg strongly encourages international candidates to apply in Round 1 or Round 2 because of visa timing.
How much does the Kellogg MBA cost?
Tuition for the first year of the Two-Year MBA in 2026-27 is $88,536, and Kellogg estimates first-year expenses at $130,072. Tuition for the 2027-28 year, second-year costs and the total two-year cost are not published on the pages we read. The application fee is $250.
Can I get a scholarship?
Every admitted student is considered automatically for Kellogg scholarships and is told at admission if selected. Finance Fellows needs a separate optional 250-word essay. The F.C. Austin Scholars and Finance Fellows awards are full tuition. Kellogg does not publish the share of students who receive aid.
What are the pay and jobs like after Kellogg?
For the Class of 2025, Kellogg reports a median base salary of $175,000, a median signing bonus of $30,000 and a median total compensation of $205,000. 90% of students seeking employment had accepted a job by six months after graduation. Consulting was 38% of accepted offers, Financial Services 21% and Technology 19%.
Is the Kellogg MBA STEM-designated?
Yes. Kellogg says all its Full-Time MBA programs are STEM-designated, with 24-month F-1 STEM-OPT eligibility for those with an F-1 visa or approved 12-month OPT. It says this gives three years of authorised work in the U.S. before sponsorship is needed.