01 · Class profile
Who is in the ESSEC Global MBA class
ESSEC shows these under 'Meet our current cohort'. It prints no class year, intake or class size with them, so we label them with no year. It calls the MBA 'boutique-sized', and the current programme page does not give a class size.
Where the cohort is from (share of students, by region)
Share of the current cohort by region, as ESSEC groups them. ESSEC's page says '100% International Cohort'. ESSEC's news item of 16th Sep 2026 says more than 23 nationalities on average, which it does not tie to one class.
Gender (share of students)
Share of the current cohort, from the gender graph on ESSEC's programme page. ESSEC's pages differ: its news item says more than 50% women. This page uses the programme page.
Test scores
| Test | Average | Median | Range |
|---|
| GMAT Focus edition (equivalent) | 615 | Not published | Not published |
| GRE | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Executive Assessment | Not published | Not published | Not published |
ESSEC says the average GMAT Focus edition equivalent score in 'this year's class' is 615. It publishes no median or range, no GRE or Executive Assessment figures, and no counts per test.
The programme
ESSEC lists the Global MBA as full-time, in person, for 12 months extendable to 16. It lists Paris La Défense and Singapore as its campuses and says the MBA takes place in Paris La Défense. It does not publish a split of the class by industry, function or academic background.
ESSEC says the Global MBA is a certified 'Grade Master' (French State BAC+5, RNCP level 7). It lists optional 1+1 pathways with Yale SOM (apply to Yale after you enrol at ESSEC) and MIT Sloan (through MIT's own admissions).
Where do you sit in this class? Enter your score, experience and profile and see your position and interview risk.
Check my chances02 · Placements
Where ESSEC Global MBA graduates go
These are the figures in the employment block of ESSEC's programme page, headed 'This could be you next year'. ESSEC prints no class year, response rate or number of graduates with them, so this page does not label them with a class.
ESSEC labels the first figure 'Average Post-MBA Salary' and the second 'Average post-MBA salary increase'. It shows a dollar sign with no currency code and does not define the pay (base, bonus or adjusted for purchasing power). It publishes no median.
ESSEC says 91% received a job offer within 6 months of graduation, and 94% work in an international environment. It does not state the base for either share.
Career change
ESSEC's Global MBA Employment Report '25-26' landing page says 74% of graduates change sector and 97% change function after the programme, from its 'last Career Survey'. The report itself sits behind a download form, so we did not read it and cannot say which class it covers.
Employers
ESSEC's programme page has a 'Discover our main recruiters' block. On the page we read it shows logos only, so this page does not list employers.
Career support
ESSEC's Talent Center services, as the programme page lists them: coaching sessions (CV review), mentoring with alumni and industry experts, career workshops, on-demand coaching (mock interviews), alumni and industry conferences, the Consultancy Challenge, networking, and corporate and recruitment events.
| Career phase | When ESSEC places it |
|---|
| Get Ready | Jun to Aug |
| Launch | Sep |
| Strengthen | Oct to Dec |
| Shine | Jan to May |
| Reach | Jun to Sep |
| Land | Sep to post-MBA |
ESSEC's career timeline, as the programme page shows it. It prints no years beside the months.
03 · Fees and scholarships
What it costs, and how to pay less
ESSEC's Tuition fees table shows programme fees of €60,000, an application fee of €130 and lifelong alumni association membership of €1,880. It does not state the intake year or what the programme fee includes or excludes.
ESSEC's Scholarships section says applications are open for the September 2027 intake with an Early Bird offer of €8,000, dated 26th Oct 2026. Its deadlines table shows €8,000 against 23rd Nov 2026 too. ESSEC does not say whether the later round still earns it.
Merit scholarships
ESSEC says it provides various merit-based scholarships based on your profile and experiences, and that the earlier you apply for a scholarship, the higher your chances of being considered. It does not publish amounts for the eight below on the page we read.
| Scholarship | What you get and who it is for |
|---|
| European Nationals | Amount not published. For candidates who can show potential to create an impact. |
| International Experience | Amount not published. ESSEC's wording points to an international environment or several languages. |
| Women Leaders | Amount not published. Leadership potential, judged on responsibilities, clubs and organisations, visibility and career progression. |
| High Potential | Amount not published. Exceptional academic achievement and career advancement. ESSEC says the amount also takes the GMAT, Executive Assessment or GRE score into account. |
| Diversity & Inclusion | Amount not published. Academic and professional background, personality and the uniqueness of your profile. |
| Sustainable Leaders | Amount not published. ESSEC's wording points to sustainability. |
| Digital Transformers | Amount not published. Digital Transformation and AI. |
| Innovation & Entrepreneurship | Amount not published. ESSEC's wording points to innovation or entrepreneurship. |
ESSEC says you cannot be fully enrolled or benefit from scholarships until it has received all documents and scores. Its checklist lists one scholarship essay 'if applicable'. It does not publish decision timing for scholarships on the page we read.
Nationality and named awards
| Scholarship | What you get and who it is for |
|---|
| ESSEC-QS Future Leader Scholarship | Up to €20,000 (SGD 30,500) for the winner of an essay contest. Applicants must have attended a QS event; ESSEC says a strong admissions file and financial need are also considered. The essay is in section 07. |
| Philippe Mathe International Leadership Award | €5,000 (SGD 7,500), for holders of US, Canadian or Mexican degrees or significant professional experience there. ESSEC's deadline: 15th Jun. |
| Serge Bellanger French-American Business Scholarship | Awards of $10,000 (US dollars) from the FACC Foundation, covering academic tuition only, for American students pursuing an MBA in France. ESSEC's programme page says multiple merit-based awards and that the deadline 'will be announced shortly'. Its registrar page says merit-based with financial need taken into consideration, deadline 29th Apr. |
| FirstRand Laurie Dippenaar scholarship | Value R1.5 million, for South African nationals. |
| Campus France scholarship | For South African nationals: a full scholarship by the Embassy of France, with France Excellence status, a return flight and a monthly allowance of approximately €850. |
| LIFE scholarship | For Lebanese students or students of Lebanese descent. ESSEC's registrar page lists it under finance. |
The Serge Bellanger entry differs between ESSEC's pages (no date on the programme page, 29th Apr on the registrar page). Neither page gives a year. Check with ESSEC before you plan around these dates.
Loans and funding
ESSEC lists bank partners Société Générale, LCL, BNP Paribas and BRED with preferential rates; loan applicants need a guarantor living in France who earns enough and is a French citizen and/or close family member. It also names Prodigy Finance and says the programme is eligible for French CPF funding.
ESSEC says Prodigy Finance serves participants of 150 nationalities, with no collateral or co-signer, loans based on future earning potential, no hidden or early-repayment fee, and funds paid to the school in euro.
Paying the fee
ESSEC's registrar says that for Global MBA students first enrolling in 2026 the entire annual tuition had to be received by 21st Jul 2026. Another registrar article says 23rd Jul. This page uses 21st Jul, the dated table. ESSEC does not publish the 2027 date on the pages we read.
After admission, an acceptance certificate on the Application Portal states the deposit amount. You pay it through Flywire to confirm your admission, and the Registrar then invites you to enrol online on MyRegistrar. ESSEC does not publish the deposit amount on the pages we read.
Could your profile earn a scholarship? Check where you stand before you apply.
Check my chances04 · Rounds and deadlines
Which round, and by when
ESSEC's programme page lists the deadlines for 'the next two application rounds' for the September 2027 intake. ESSEC does not name or number its rounds, so the cards are numbered in date order. The tags on the cards (closed, open now) and the countdown are our own reading of each deadline against today's date, not ESSEC's wording; ESSEC says only that applications for the 2027 intake are open.
Round 126th Oct 2026
- Interviews:
- Not published
- Decision:
- Within 2 weeks of the interview
Round 223rd Nov 2026
- Interviews:
- Not published
- Decision:
- Within 2 weeks of the interview
ESSEC says the application cycle runs from September 2026 through June 2027. It does not list rounds after 23rd Nov 2026, and it publishes no interview windows, decision dates or deposit dates for each round.
ESSEC says that if your application is successful at review, you are contacted within 2 weeks for your interview, and told within 2 weeks of the interview whether a place is offered. It says decisions of the Admissions Panel are final and cannot be appealed.
You can apply without a test score and be accepted pending receipt of it. ESSEC says admitted applicants without a score should send it before the next round deadline.
Not sure which round to aim for? We look at your file and tell you.
Check my chances05 · Clubs and activities
Life outside class
ESSEC's Global MBA page does not list named student clubs or committees for the programme, and gives no club count. What it describes is below. The school-wide student organisations page covers all of ESSEC, not only the Global MBA, and the events it describes are on the Cergy campus.
Industry Learning Labs
| Lab | What they do |
|---|
| Consulting | Executive workshops (Doing Consulting, Project Scoping, Interviewing Skills), a Deloitte 'Bootcamp', a learning expedition to London and company visits. |
| Tech & Product Management | 'Becoming a Product CEO' workshops and a PM bootcamp. |
| Finance | Workshops including a Venture Capital Simulation and a Mergers & Acquisition Simulation, a London expedition, and Term 3 electives in FinTech, Sustainable Finance and Entrepreneurial Finance. |
| Luxury | Workshops on Savoir Faire, Creating Sustainable Luxury and Luxury Retail Strategy, a Luxury 'Bootcamp', expeditions to London and Milan, a 'Savoir Faire' visit and a boutique internship. |
ESSEC says you choose up to two labs, and the choice is made in the first term, not at application. Asked whether you need to know your lab when you apply, ESSEC answers 'No', and says the more specific your career ambitions, the better.
Learning outside class
| Event | What it is |
|---|
| Leadership programme | A three-day French Culture Integration at the start (location changes each year), a Global Business Simulation, and a 360-degree leadership assessment with personal goals and coaching through the year. |
| Field trip | A week-long trip in the second term, in a location that changes yearly: an industry-focused research project, company visits and meetings with local alumni. ESSEC says business trips this year are to key European destinations. |
| Career accelerator | For the final phase you choose an Internship, a Global Field Project (a real business problem with sponsoring companies) or a Venturing Project (ESSEC Ventures coaching and mentoring, with possible incubation at Station F). |
| Exchange | ESSEC's news item of 23rd Jul 2026 features a Global MBA participant on an exchange semester at the University of Mannheim. |
On the Venturing Project, ESSEC says it takes only a select number from each cohort.
Campus and network
ESSEC says the Global MBA is based at La Défense, Paris, where the Talent Center hosts master classes and professional talks. It lists Singapore (One-North) as the second campus. Its alumni network figures (79,000 alumni, '+125 clubs and chapters', '> 1000 events') are not Global MBA student clubs.
ESSEC's student organisations page says there are more than 100 student organisations across the school, covering international affairs, art, sports and civic engagement, and that ESSEC encourages students to join at least one.
06 · Process
From application to decision
Step 1: preparation and testsBefore you apply
Take a management aptitude test and, unless you are exempt, an English test.
You do not need your score to start the application. See section 07.
Step 2: online applicationBy your round deadline
Create an ESSEC account, get an ID and password by email and fill in the form. ESSEC says you can pause and return. Complete your essays in the form.
ESSEC does not publish the essay prompts on its programme page.
Step 3: checklist and documentsWith your application
Upload the documents on ESSEC's checklist, including two reference letters in ESSEC's format.
The application fee is €130.
Step 4: interviewIf you are shortlisted
ESSEC says the Admissions Panel fully reviews your complete application. If it is successful, you are contacted within 2 weeks for a 30 to 40-minute interview.
In person or by video conference, depending on your location.
Step 5: resultsWithin 2 weeks of the interview
ESSEC tells you whether a place is offered, with supporting documents for visa applicants.
ESSEC says decisions are final and cannot be appealed.
After admissionTo confirm your place
Pay the deposit, which the acceptance certificate states, through Flywire, then enrol online on MyRegistrar with a copy of your passport and your birth certificate.
ESSEC does not publish the deposit amount on the pages we read.
07 · What you need
What goes into the application
1. Eligibility
ESSEC lists: at least 25 years old when you submit your application; at least 3 years of post-university professional experience (excluding internships); international work experience, abroad or in an international environment; a 4-year bachelor's degree; and an advanced level of English.
ESSEC says candidates with a 3-year bachelor's degree go through a specific VAPP (Validation of Acquired Professional and Personal Knowledge) process and need a minimum of 5 years of professional experience.
2. Aptitude test
ESSEC lists the GMAT (it says the Focus edition is accepted), the Executive Assessment, the GRE or the TAGE-MAGE, valid for 5 years. It states a preferred minimum of GMAT Focus 585, with exceptions possible, and says it looks at applications on a holistic basis and 'a high GMAT score does not guarantee admission'. ESSEC codes: GMAT X6RFV57, GRE 0839.
ESSEC says online GMAT scores are accepted. It publishes no minimum for the GRE, the Executive Assessment or the TAGE-MAGE on the page we read.
3. English test
Valid for 2 years. ESSEC lists minimums of TOEIC 800, IELTS 7, TOEFL 100 (TOEFL MyBest, or TOEFL Essentials with a minimum of 10, also accepted) and Duolingo 135. TOEFL code 0520.
ESSEC says the English test is not required if you are a native English speaker, did your university degree in English, have spent the last 3 years in an English-speaking environment or country, or have lived a minimum of 3 years in an English-speaking country.
4. Essays
ESSEC's process says 'Complete your essays' in the online application. The programme page publishes no essay prompts and no word limits. ESSEC lists one scholarship essay 'if applicable' on its checklist.
Essay for the ESSEC-QS Future Leader Scholarship (about 500 words)
Describe how you have so far demonstrated excellence in leadership
This is the prompt on ESSEC's registrar page for the ESSEC-QS Future Leader Scholarship, which also requires attendance at a QS event. It is the only essay prompt we found on ESSEC's pages. ESSEC does not publish a video or timed written assessment on the page we read.
5. Two reference letters
ESSEC says to attach two PDF reference letters in its format only. The form linked from its page is headed 'Reference form, ESSEC Executive Education' and is dated October 2022 at the foot. Its questions cover how long and in what context the referee has known you; a rating on ten qualities (including intellectual ability, analytical skills, communication, teamwork, drive and leadership potential); your personality; strengths; weaknesses; your motivation and suitability for an executive management position; and whether the programme will add to your managerial progression.
ESSEC does not publish a word limit for the letters or a separate deadline for referees on the pages we read.
6. Documents
A CV or resume of 1 to 2 pages at most; a copy of your passport or ID card; a passport-style ID photo (medium to high resolution); official transcripts and degree certificates from all prior academic establishments (excluding high school), with the baccalauréat added for French candidates; your original test scores; and the application fee of €130. Documents must be in English or French, with official translations for other languages.
08 · What ESSEC wants
How ESSEC reads your file
ESSEC says: 'We select and welcome high-impact and high-potential, forward thinking and responsible individuals with a collaborative mindset and international backgrounds.' It publishes no weighting or scoring formula for the areas below.
| ESSEC looks at | In plain words |
|---|
| High potential and impact | The programme is 'designed for responsible and high-potential professionals looking to make a career leap'. |
| Mid-career experience | ESSEC admits mid-career professionals of at least 25 years of age, with at least 3 years of post-university professional experience. |
| International background | International work experience, abroad or in an international environment. ESSEC says the class is 100% international. |
| Your whole profile | ESSEC says it looks at applications on a holistic basis, and a high GMAT score does not guarantee admission. |
| Distinctive strengths | Its scholarship wording names leadership potential, academic achievement and career advancement, sustainability, digital transformation and AI, innovation or entrepreneurship, and several languages. |
The last row comes from how ESSEC describes its merit scholarships, not from a statement about admission criteria. The interview is where ESSEC says you show motivation for an MBA, for ESSEC and for your goals.
See how your file reads against these areas before you spend weeks on the application.
Check my chances09 · Interview questions
What ESSEC asks in its application
ESSEC does not publish its interview questions or its essay prompts on the pages we read, and we hold no candidate accounts of the ESSEC Global MBA interview. So this page lists no interview questions. The rows show what ESSEC publishes about what it asks you for.
| Topic | How it was asked |
|---|
| Your CV or resume | 1 to 2 pages at most, on ESSEC's checklist. |
| Your essays | ESSEC's process says 'Complete your essays' in the online application. It does not publish the prompts or word limits on its programme page. |
| Two reference letters | In ESSEC's format only. Its form asks about the referee's relationship with you, ratings on ten qualities, your personality, strengths, weaknesses and suitability. |
| A scholarship essay, if applicable | The ESSEC-QS Future Leader Scholarship essay asks you to describe how you have so far demonstrated excellence in leadership, in about 500 words. |
| Test scores and English | A management aptitude test, and an English test unless you are exempt. Details are in section 07. |
These are ESSEC's published application items, not interview questions. We do not show how likely any topic is, because we have no accounts to base it on.
10 · Interview experience
What ESSEC says the interview is like
What ESSEC says
| Topic | What to expect |
|---|
| Who is invited | ESSEC says that if your application is successful you will be contacted within 2 weeks. It does not say what the 2 weeks run from. |
| Length | 30 to 40 minutes. |
| Format | In person or by video conference, depending on your location. |
| Panel | The Academic Director and/or faculty members, Global MBA alumni or students, members of the Talent Center, HR professionals, or headhunters. |
| Aim | To show your motivation: for an MBA, for ESSEC, and for what you hope to achieve. |
| After the interview | ESSEC says you are notified within 2 weeks whether a place is offered. Decisions are final and cannot be appealed. |
| Not published | The number of interviews, interview locations, the questions, interview windows, decision dates, a waitlist process and the 2027 deposit deadline. |
What candidates report
We hold no candidate accounts of the ESSEC Global MBA interview, so this page reports none. Treat the table above, from ESSEC's own programme page, as what ESSEC has published so far.
11 · FAQs
Questions students ask about ESSEC Global MBA
Which tests does the ESSEC Global MBA accept?
ESSEC lists the GMAT (it says the Focus edition is accepted), the Executive Assessment, the GRE or the TAGE-MAGE, valid for 5 years. It states a preferred minimum of GMAT Focus 585, with exceptions possible. Its class average is a GMAT Focus edition equivalent of 615. You do not need a score to start the application.
How much work experience do I need?
ESSEC lists at least 3 years of post-university professional experience, excluding internships, and international work experience. Candidates with a 3-year bachelor's degree need a minimum of 5 years. The current cohort averages 6 years, as ESSEC's programme page shows it.
What are the ESSEC Global MBA essay questions?
ESSEC's process says to complete your essays in the online application, but its programme page publishes no prompts or word limits. The only essay prompt we found is for the ESSEC-QS Future Leader Scholarship, about 500 words, shown in section 07.
How is the ESSEC interview run?
By invitation if your application is successful; ESSEC says you are contacted within 2 weeks (it does not say what the 2 weeks run from). The interview lasts 30 to 40 minutes, in person or by video conference depending on your location. ESSEC says its aim is to see your motivation for an MBA, for ESSEC and for your goals.
How many reference letters do I need?
Two professional reference letters, as PDFs in ESSEC's format only. ESSEC does not publish a word limit on the pages we read.
Which round should I apply in?
ESSEC's programme page lists deadlines of 26th Oct 2026 (which has now passed) and 23rd Nov 2026 for the September 2027 intake, and says the cycle runs from September 2026 through June 2027. It does not list later rounds or give interview and decision dates per round.
How much does the ESSEC Global MBA cost?
ESSEC's Tuition fees table shows programme fees of €60,000, an application fee of €130 and lifelong alumni association membership of €1,880. It does not state the intake year or what the programme fee includes. It lists an Early Bird offer of €8,000.
Can I get a scholarship at ESSEC?
ESSEC lists merit-based scholarships (European Nationals, International Experience, Women Leaders, High Potential, Diversity & Inclusion, Sustainable Leaders, Digital Transformers, Innovation & Entrepreneurship) without amounts, plus named awards such as the ESSEC-QS Future Leader Scholarship of up to €20,000. It says the earlier you apply, the higher your chances of being considered.
What are the pay and jobs like after the ESSEC Global MBA?
ESSEC's programme page shows an average post-MBA salary of $113,279, a 95% average salary increase, and 91% receiving a job offer within 6 months of graduation. It prints no class year or pay definition beside them, and does not state the base for the shares.
Where is the ESSEC Global MBA taught, and how long is it?
ESSEC lists the Global MBA as full-time and in person, for 12 months extendable to 16. It lists Paris La Défense and Singapore as its campuses and says the MBA takes place in Paris La Défense.